Board of Trustees

Supporting our institute
The Boards of Trustees at the Max Planck Institutes are ambassadors to frontier research.

Board of Trustees

The Boards of Trustees at the Max Planck Institutes are important instruments for communicating with the public. The Board members, leading personalities from the economy, science, politics and the media, assume a key role as ambassadors for basic science and foster interaction with the institutes’ scientific and social environments. They are appointed by the President of the Max Planck Society for a term of six years.

The members of our Board of Trustees are

Victoria Appelbe
Head of Department for Economic Development
Federal City of Bonn, Bonn

Katja Dörner
Mayor of the Federal City of Bonn, Bonn

Dr. Andreas Fier
Head of Academic Relations, Deutsche Telekom AG, Bonn

Dr. Stefan Groß
Chief Executive Officer, Carl Zeiss Microscopy Deutschland GmbH, Oberkochen

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Michael Hoch
Rector of the University of Bonn, Bonn

Daniele Jörg
Head of Science Program "Quarks", Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR), Cologne

Prof. Dr. Andrea Kienle
Head of Department for Research, Ministry for Culture and Science of North Rhine Westphalia, Düsseldorf

Dr. Monika Lessl
Executive Director, Bayer Foundation, Leverkusen

Peter Limbourg
Director General, Deutsche Welle, Bonn

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Misof
Director, Forschungsmuseum Koenig,
Leibniz Institute for the Analysis of Biodiversity Change (LIB), Bonn

Prof. Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee
President, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), Bonn
Rector of the University of Cologne, Cologne

Dr. Andrea Niehaus
Director, Deutsches Museum Bonn, Bonn

Inga Schäfer
Secretary General, Joint Science Conference (GWK), Bonn

Prof. Dr. Robert Schlögl
President, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Bonn

Bettina Schmieding
Head of Science and Education Department, Deutschlandfunk, Cologne

Dr. LL.M. Tim Wißmann
Partner, Küttner Rechtsanwälte Partnerschaftsgesellschaft mbB, Cologne