Advisory Board

Ensuring high quality research
Max Planck Institutes are regularly reviewed by independent Scientific Advisory Boards. For each institute, this advisory board is composed of experts from leading international research institutions and universities in the respective research field.

Scientific Advisory Board

Evaluation is integral to successful quality management in science. The MPG is convinced that only scientists with excellent expertise in the same or similar field - peers - are in a position to completely assess the quality of basic research. The evaluation by peers is organized through Scientific Advisory Boards (SABs) constituted for each Institute. The SAB usually convenes on site every three years.

Our current SAB members are:

Prof. Dr. Michael Brecht
Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany

Prof. Dr. Catherine Carr
University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA

Prof. Dr. Michale Fee
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA

Prof. Dr. Na Ji
University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA

Prof. Dr. Ilan Lampl
Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel

Prof. Dr. Eve Marder
Brandeis University, Waltham, MA, USA

Prof. Dr. Wolfram Schultz
University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK

Prof. Dr. Richard Tsien
NYU Langone Health, New York, NY, USA